ᑲᐅᒡ ᑕᒋᐧᑳᑦ ᒋᔅᑯᑕᒪᒉᐧᐃᓐ ᑌᐦᑕᐳᐧᐃᓂᒋᒫᐤ

Council of Commissioners

The Cree School Board is governed by an elected Council of Commissioners that has the ultimate responsibility to provide preschool, elementary, and secondary education to the youth of Eeyou Istchee, community-based continuing education, and vocational training to adults, and supports Cree adults in their pursuit of post-secondary education.

Council Meetings

The Council of Commissioners meets a least five times during each school year. Locations for meetings are determined by the Council.


Sarah Pash, Chairperson

Sarah Pash holds a PhD in Educational Success for First Nations Students, a Master’s degree in Education focused on Community & Parent Involvement, and two Bachelor degrees as well as certificates at the post-secondary level.

Since 2015, she has served as the executive director at Aanischaaukamikw Cree Cultural Institute in Oujé-Bougoumou, and currently serves on the Board of Directors of the Canadian Museums Association.

She was elected to the Office of Chairperson of the Cree School Board in July 2018 and officially sworn in in September 2018.


What is the Council of Commissioners?

The Council comprises of nine community elected representatives and a regionally elected Chairperson. All terms for the elected officials are three years. Two non-voting members with observer status, are appointed by the Washaw Sibi and MoCreebec band councils, and also sit on the Council.

Current Commissioners

Updated: September 30, 2021
  • Dr. Sarah Pashagumskum, Chairperson
  • Daisy Shecapio, Vice-Chairperson, Oujé-Bougoumou
  • Jasmine Namagoose, Third Executive Member, Eastmain
  • Sammy Blackned, Wemindji
  • Maïtée Saganash, Waswanipi
  • Anthony Moses, Waskaganish
  • Rebecca Masty-Kawapit, Whapmagoostui
  • Minnie Loon Petawabano, Mistissini
  • Gertie Jolly, Nemaska
  • Robin Pachanos, Chisasibi
  • Adam Enosse, MoCreebec Observer
  • Andriana Trapper, Washaw-Sibi Observer

What does the Council of Commissioners do?

  • Governs the Cree School Board (CSB) on behalf of the people of Eeyou Istchee.
  • Monitors the strategic direction of the CSB.
  • Guides the CSB regarding the values and educational needs of our people.
  • Measures success using a thoughtful and systematic process.
  • Maintains relationships between the CSB with the local, regional, and provincial governance entities.

Executive Committee

  • Sarah Pashagumskum, Chairperson
  • Daisy Shecapio, Vice-Chairperson
  • Jasmine Namagoose, Third Executive Member
  • Caroline Mark, Director General (Interim), non-voting

Governance Committee

  • Sarah Pashagumskum, Chairperson
  • Robin Pachanos
  • Maitee Saganash
  • Anthony Moses

Audit Committee

  • Sarah Pashagumskum, Chairperson
  • Minnie Loon
  • Gertie Jolly
  • Anthony Moses

Adhoc Committee – Research Protocol and Agenda

  • Sarah Pashagumskum, Chairperson
  • Maitee Saganash
  • Robin Pachanos
  • Jasmine Namagoose
Make a Difference
Become a Cree School Board Commissioner

All Commissioners are expected to:

  • Attend all meetings.
  • Prepare for all meetings accordingly.
  • Participate in educational sessions.
  • Attend local School Committee meetings as a non-voting member.
  • Participate in any dialogue concerning governance matters.
  • Sit on assigned council committees and regional groups.

Characteristics of a Commissioner

  • Passionate about the role that Eeyou Education plays in creating a strong Cree Nation.
    Willingness to discuss education with your fellow community members.
  • Honest with strong moral principles.
    Decision-making ability based on values, for the greater good of the Cree Nation, our future generations, and with thoughtful discussion and consultation.


  • A Cree member of the community you would like to represent.
  • Need to be 18 years old or older.
  • Have no criminal record or offenses.

The time is to act now!

As a Commissioner, your voice will shape the future of our Cree Nation.

  • Bring broad educational issues from your community to the Council.
  • Participate actively in Council discussion and decision-making.
  • Make decisions in the best interests of our people.

For more information, please contact:

Doreen Blackned, Secretary General

418-923-2764, ext. 1218
(514) 604-9400

Executive Committee

An Executive Committee composed of the Chairperson, the Vice-Chairperson and third Executive Member, meets regularly during the school year in order to facilitate day-to-day business. Its functions include approval of capital projects, personnel plans, and labour relations settlements. The Director General is a non-voting member of the Executive Committee. 

pdf Schedule of Meetings 2021-2022

Cree School Board

Telephone: 418-923-2764
Toll Free: 1-866-999-2764

View More

Admin Office Hours
Monday - Wednesday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Thursday: 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 3:00 p.m.